What's new
What's new

Issue with specifying a dimension - How to?

Fal Grunt

Titanium
I'm not an engineer, and throughout my time in the trade, very rarely MADE prints. There is one unlucky soul here on the forum that has to navigate his way around my terrible blueprints and I have one that I am sending that frankly I am not sure how to specify some specific features.

My background is in Tool & Die, and as dumb as this may sound, the shops I worked at, rarely worked to tolerances. We had a dimension, we made it to that dimension. At the one big shop I worked at, they had all sorts of tolerancing, but you did your damndest to NAIL the nominal dimension, because chances were, if you used the tolerance, the parts wouldn't work together.

I have a part that is being made for me. It is a threaded shaft. The threads are an oddball bastard. I designed both parts, and made them as simple as possible. Once the shaft is made, I will make the "nut" that threads on. There are two diameters, along with the thread, that mate to the nut. The two diameters keep the nut concentric and shoulder the nut flush to the shaft.

I don't really care about the dimensions within reason. What I CARE about, is consistency. One of the diameters is dimensioned at .299", plus or minus .001". Not exactly close tolerance, and enough clearance that the nut would wobble on one end of the spectrum and be tight on the other. Specifying plus or minus .0002" makes it a stupid expensive part.

Now, the question at hand.

Short of tightening the tolerance, how do you specify that consistency is key?

For reference also, we aren't talking about 10,000 parts. We are talking about small quantities. 30, 50, 100 piece jobs.

By tightening the tolerance. Period. You need to be able to send that print to any vendor at any point in the future and get good, interchangeable parts, otherwise it's a bad print.