What's new
What's new

Jaw grip length on lathe work piece - 1/3rd ALWAYS necessary?

Schjell

Aluminum
First of all, apologies for being a bit of a parasite on this forum. I'm new to CNC lathes, but I've worked a lot on manual machines. All of your comments are always most appreciated!

Okay, here it goes;

If I'm going to center drill a POM-C bar(no pecking) and thereafter bring in the boring bar - then (in my head at least) there shouldn't be too much radial loads if I run things with a careful feedrate and low RPM's. The stock in question will have Ø250mm (~10") and 340mm (~13") length.

Do you guys consistently adhere to the 1/3rd rule of thumb in terms of jaw grip length?

Can I reduce grip length if I use common sense and keep the RPMs low combined with a gentle feed? I presume sentrifugal load is the thing to worry about here. Assume cut steel soft jaws and hydraulic chuck.

On the smaller manual lathe with hard jaws I have used very little grip length at times, and yes, parts have flown out, so I take this matter very seriously. It's just fun until I get hurt/killed or wreck a 100k machine..

Thanks again,
Cheers
John

......Do you guys consistently adhere to the 1/3rd rule of thumb in terms of jaw grip length?........

Never heard that as a rule. All depends on the job and what needs to be done.

I've done some jobs where the stock got prepped with a "dove tail" and held onto by .1" in matching softjaws with 4" outside the jaws.

Never heard that as a rule. All depends on the job and what needs to be done.

I've done some jobs where the stock got prepped with a "dove tail" and held onto by .1" in matching softjaws with 4" outside the jaws.

Thanks! - that's the answer I was hoping for. I was watching a Haas Youtube video on cutting soft jaws - their advice appeared to be fairly strict on the 1/3rd grip length when not using the tailstock. Being a self-taught guy I'm open to most advice!