What's new
What's new

Jerky 4th Axis Simulatenous with Haas (Programming, Machine help)

CNCPleb

Plastic
Howdy, I'm a noob trying to learn how to machine with CNCs, so bear with me.

I'm using a Haas VF2SS with NGC and a Haas rotary A-axis mounted to the table. Using Fusion 360 to program a spiral rotary toolpath to rough square stock into a cylinder with simultaneous milling. The code posts just fine and the machine will accept it, but the rotary movement is jerky and I can't seem to fix it. Here's a link to a short video of the dry run so you can see what I'm talking about. Ignore the ghetto lathe center setup.

I've followed Haas's troubleshooting for jerky simultaneous milling and everything seems good with my machine settings. The machine has HSM, so I get as much look-ahead as I can. The code is posted using G93 which is Inverse Time feed, I guess? This seems to be what people suggest based on what little info I can find, and the machine won't accept me posting it as DPM feed anyway for some reason. I've also tried tolerance values in Fusion 360 from .0004 to .1, and while the bigger tolerance values make the toolpath a little smoother, it doesn't solve the problem. The problem also persists if I change the toolpath to a circular one, with no X-axis movement for cuts(minus stepovers), so it doesn't seem tied to constant X-axis movements.

I can't find any info on how else to solve this, so does anyone here have any ideas?

The code is posted using G93 which is Inverse Time feed, I guess?
Yes, G93 is inverse time feed. You need a feedrate on every line and your feedrates will look much different than IPM rates.They will be much larger values.

Inverse time is making sure that all commanded axes arrive at the destination at the same time....per line of code being executed.
If you used G94 and told it(assuming a start point of X0Y0A0) X1. Y1. A156, X and Y will get to 1 while A is still rotating to 156. Not good.

Post your code.