Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Colorado
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by SRT Mike View Post
    I have no experience with the Medcenter, but I do work at a shop with a bunch of Kitamuras and I have owned and worked with lots of different machines in the past. Personally, I would not buy a Kitamura for several reasons:

1) The control is buggy. It does weird stuff, like you load the probe and touch off a part, then load your program, hit reset, and the program starts and cranks the probe up to 15k RPM thinking it's on the first tool of the program.

2) They have an "Arumatik" control based on a Mitsubishi 850 under the hood. It's the latest and greatest from Mitsubishi, yet even with the memory maxed out, it's still only got 2MB of RAM. Pitiful and shameful.

3) The NC unit itself is fast in processing code, but it's slow in other ways... it sits and waits for a second when you do things like turn on the high-speed machining, or when you run the tool break check, or run a probing cycle. It's just sluggish and really impacts chip-to-chip time.

The machines haven't seemed to be all that reliable. Two new Kitty's this year and both have had extensive service calls and repairs, one of them major requiring months of repair attempts by the manufacturer, ultimately resulting in a new machine being built to replace the one on the floor.

Just my .02. Some things I like, the machine is accurate and can take a hefty cut... but I don't think the compromises are worth it. And don't get me started on a Mitsu control that's skinned to be just as clunky and counter intuitive as Fanuc... like putting the interior from a Toyota Corolla into a Lamborghini - insanity.
    I have few things myself but don't really want to stick the "Boot" in …

But still nice that someone wants to build machines that can cut really straight. (at least some of them).