What's new
What's new

Locate re-start point in program when stopped mid-cycle.

Robert2018

Plastic
Hi all - I'm completely new to using CNC hence the newbie question.

If using a CNC machine (Heidenhain) how would someone locate the correct re-start point in the G-code program when the machine is stopped mid-cycle?

Thank you.

not familiar with your controls at all, but generally, you need to go back to the tool call and run from there.

I am not familiar with your control either. We run sequence numbers only at tool changes on Fanuc. So If I need to do this deep in a program I will tag the line I want to jump to with say N100 for example. Start at the desired tool. Single block the machine through the tool length callout G43 or whatever your machine uses. When at the clearance plane type N100 cursor down. Control jumps to the N100 line. Continue on.

Not Heidenhain either but interested in what 'They" do... And how one generally goes about getting answers to such queries ?

Just for propaganda purposes as right now I think "They" HAAS pretty much have a "Tip of the day" for pretty much everything.

Gotta love just guessing. Have you tried Cursor-ing down to a Toolchange (usually a line with a N value-followed by G99-followed by T1) and pressing Cycle Start?

Have you tried anything?

R

Few different ways you can do it.

The Heidenhain control I'm familiar with is the TNC530, others may be different.

If you pause a program mid-cycle and just need to check out the workpiece or inspect the tool, hit feed-hold and then press the "manual traverse" softkey and move the spindle away from the work using the handwheel. You can then use the "restore position" softkey when you're done to move the spindle back into position. It will reverse the exact movements you used to retract the spindle, and you can continue running the program from here.