What's new
What's new

Looking at a haas machine for production

swamppifi

Plastic
Hello to all

I am a CNC Programmer for a large company using Creo, Icam, and Vericut.

Now I have been assigned a task to source a multi tasking turning center within a set budget.

currently 5 axis machines are falling out of that price range, so I am looking at lathe with Y Axis and live tooling.

one machine I am in the process of looking at a Haas ST35LY for our factory. Now I new to dealings with Haas, I am mainly Mazak and Okuma machines, so I would some feedback from current owners on their machine. I am putting my neck out by even thinking of recommending a Haas machine..... :confused: .

also any other machines recommendations would be welcome, other manufactures feel free to contact me

Thanks

Oh man, the opinion havers are gonna get here soon. Before they do you might describe better the parts you want to make on this machine. That seems to be a big factor in machine choice, especially with lathes with y-axes. I have had parts that looked like lathe parts until you looked at them closely and they turned out to be mill parts.

I'm a Haas owner and have purchased them for other places I've worked.

In your situation, I would strongly consider the service and parts availability aspect over price. And for that reason, if you've gotten good S&P from Okuma, I would stick with that brand for your lathe needs.

I've only run a couple Haas lathes, but those did not impress me as much as the VMCs I've owned/bought. Just my opinion of course, but I would suggest you look elsewhere for a production machine where you're "sticking your neck out".

I would also include verbiage in the purchase contract that training and a "prove out" period be part of the deal, to ensure the machine can do what the salespeople claim.