What's new
What's new

Looking for knowledge on machining using ceramic inserts

I was hoping to find a ceramic specific site or forum. I feel like if there is a site focused on machining with ceramics (not the machining of ceramics), I would be able to learn a lot more about them faster than on a general forum about all aspects of machining. I am totally new to ceramic inserts, although I have been machining for 40 years. I just tried turning pure Nickel on rocket engines and it was a huge improvement over carbide. Now I want to know more, like what S/F's and DOC others have been able to run in pure Nickel. I was instructed by my Sandvik rep to start out at 800 SFM & .008 IPR with a .040" DOC. I am also concerned about tool pressure. The Nickel is electro-deposited over Copper channels and I was concerned that if there is too much tool pressure it could collapse the Nickel over the channels. I did find (surprisingly) that the T-Land seemed to perform better with less tool pressure than the non-T-land insert. Inserts were round, grade 6061. Cutting up to a 20" diameter on a Mazak 450II-M.
Thanks,
Brett.....

Last edited:
That is quite a specific topic to devote an entire forum to it. Two discussions: 1. "I can't believe how fast I can run these but do I have to?", and 2."These inserts cut this hard shit like butter but how can I make them last for hours/days because my boss is a cheap bastard and won't buy me another one" :D

Who better to ask questions of, than the tool rep or his engineering team?

Ceramic inserts are used to super finishing operations. Ceramics are harder than carbide but more fragile, so it will not be a good idea using them on interrupted cut, or to deburr heat treated surfaces. The big advantage of ceramics is that you can use very high RPM on the machine with very low feed without burning the tool tip. Ceramics are made most of aluminium oxide.