What's new
What's new

Looking for my first CNC lathe, probably a Mazak, need advice please!

Howihowi

Aluminum
Hello Everyone!

We are an R&D and small scale production company. We design, produce and consume our own parts. Our "production" quantities are typically between 1 to 20 pieces.

We recently acquired a mid-90's Fadal VMC with Fanuc 88. We have had very much success with it and it has already paid for itself in 1 project. I'm using BobCAD for CAM, and also learning coding at the same time.

I have lots of manual lathe experience but a big fat 0 with CNC lathes. I will need a versatile and accurate machine much like my Monarch 10EE, except as long a travel as possible.

Oh, and budget is always a concern.

I have been seriously looking at some Mazak SQT 250MS with live tooling. Seems they can be had for about $50k budget. I learned from you all that I can't go wrong with a Mazak lathe.

Then I got confused with all the different models QT, QTN, ST, SL, STN.... etc. Then I got even more confused with the controls and which model has what - Maztrol, Nexus.... And then also heard some horror stories with the Nexus machines.

Would someone be kind enough to break all this down and explain it to me? :willy_nilly: Would like to be able to keep it at $50k or under. I know it's hard with live tooling but not impossible I think.

Oh, one last thing, I know I will be doing a lot of boring, long parts. So the longer the travel the better. And with boring I'm assuming that the travel will need to be at least double of the length of the part since the tool itself needs to be at least that long.

Thank you all so much!!!

Howi

Hi, ideally, the part would be:

- aluminum
- 3" to 6" in OD
- 3/8" thickness
- 6" to 24" long
- blind/threaded holes at ends (live tooling)