What's new
What's new

Looking for simple cheap 2D CAD

rbdjr59

Cast Iron
After reading several threads I realize that what I need is something very simple as all I am doing is generating drawings for machine foundations and simple repair parts for my equipment. I am a concrete contractor who specializes in machine foundations. I am spending too much time with a pencil and a ruler making drawings for my clients to approve. Most of the machine foundations are for machines that are used and often don't have any factory drawings to go by. Even when I do have such drawings the owners often wish to make changes to better fit their operations. The factory drawings most often don't show reinforcing and I add that as well. I will draw up chip conveyor trays and show top and side views and that is about it. I also will draw parts such as shafts with threaded bores or O.D.'s to make repair parts for my equipment. I don't anticipate needing to grow into Autocad or solid works and I'm getting a little old to dedicate that kind of time to this now. Can some of you guys who are immersed in this field give me some advice on a simple and cheap software to use?IMG_0083.jpgDSCN2485.jpg

Draftsight used to be my free goto for 2d, but they just announced that it will go to $99/year December 31. There's a discussion about this on a "home shop machinist" board with discussion of alternatives.

"Autocad" is 2-d.....and is what I used when I did foundations, and tool design. From what I saw, Plain Old 2-d autocad is the defacto standard in the
building trades.

Now I have moved up to "Inventor" which is Autocad's version of solidworks,
parametric solid modelling.

You'll do fine with Dasault (free copy of 2-d autocad).

Now as to why you posted in the "CNC machinery section" and not the "CAD/CAM
SEction" is beyond comprehension.

@digger doug:

From a letter from Dassault: