What's new
What's new

Low Cost Small Part Dovetail Fixtures *4th and 5th Axis*

dstryr

Diamond
*Edit: Posted in for sale items and didnt get much response. Figured I'd try my hat over here*

I've been using these in production in my own shop for a few years now. When I first got into multi axis milling we were amazed at the prices people wanted for fixturing but when you only need 1-2 you just shut up and pay it. Fast forward a year and I started needing more of these. So we ran off 40 or so of my own designed clamp. These have served us very well for smaller parts where you need tool holder clearances.

The beauty of these are they are cheap so you can cut them , modify them, or whatever you need to fit that part. They clamp very easily and with little torque required have a great bite on the dovetail. Usually a 1/4 turn with a T handle is all you need. This new batch we didn't want to deal with helicoils so we designed a little t nut to slide in the back slots (should see what I mean below) for the clamping screws to thread into in case a bolt wears out and breaks the head off. Throw it away and replace the nut instead of the whole fixture like we used to do.

This go around I'm building two different sizes.
1. Dovetail .570 wide (perfect for .750 stock)
2. Dovetail .900 wide for a little bit bigger part (we needed this for a production part we run).

The block dimensions are
1.975 x 2.5 x 2.975

They are secured down with 4 1/4-20s on the flange and they have 2 1/4 slip dowels on the back.

Dovetail cut required on stock
60* Dovetail x .125 deep (Fixtures are .100 dp)

Below you will find pictures of the clamps themselves and some setups I've used them on over the years.

Pricing:

1 pc $150 each Shipped
5 pcs $120 each shipped
10 pcs+ $100 each shipped

I have 30 of the smaller ones right now I can sell and 10 of the larger ones. Will make more depending on if there is any interest.

Paypal payment
Email me for orders
dennis.rathi {at} creationsultd.com