What's new
What's new

Machining cast iron vs 1018, not as expected.

BRIAN.T

Cast Iron
I've been making a part from 1018 for a couple years, for this recent order the 1018 was unavailable, so we are allowed to switch to class 40 grey cast iron.

I've never done any real cast iron milling, aside from small simple stuff. This part takes about hour, tons of roughing, flat and perpendicular within .002.

For my first part I decided to run my normal 1018 program as a baseline. I was expecting the program to be slow. My expectations would.be 650 sfm would be about right, and chatter would be non existent. I expected to be able to feed faster.

This part is held upright in a lang vise, most of the roughing is 5" away from the vise with the table at 90 degrees. Not a rigid setup, but excellent for those perpendicularity call outs.

Roughing 5 flute end,
650 sfm
.090 radial
1.25 axial
.004 per tooth.
This is the sweet spot for this setup in 1018. Chatter like crazy in cast, the whole system was humming, from end mill to concrete.

Face milling 2" facemill (don't remember the exact parameters)
1500rpm
.005 chip perhaps.
.035 stock depth finish,

I ended up having to take the end mill down to 12 percent for the cast before the chatter went away, and the facemill to .010 stock remaining, and even that wasn't great.

My question I suppose is, what is the typical things to look out for, or adjust from 1018 to cast. Thanks

Cast iron is more abrasive, denser, and has more surface tension. When machining cast, a rigid set up is a must and your D.O.C. is critical.

Cast iron is more abrasive, denser, and has more surface tension. When machining cast, a rigid set up is a must and your D.O.C. is critical.

Seems like based on what I'm seeing a lighter step over with faster feed is the way to go. I can't do anything about the rigidity given the shape of the part. Would you say that's the correct direction to go?
Thanks