What's new
What's new

Macro B Part Count to Adjust RPMs

RevHaus

Plastic
Hello,

I'm a novice with Macro B programming, and I'm okay with G and M code programming.
I am working on a Romi M27 Lathe, using a GE Fanuc Series 21i-TB control.
We are running a 12 foot plastic tube. We machine a part, cut it off, stop the machine, manually move the tube further into the machine, and repeat until we can't make any more parts from that tube. We get 13 parts from each tube.

For the first half of the tube length we run the machine at 300RPM because of how much tube sticks out of the machine through the spindle. For the 2nd half, once the tube is shorter, we run the parts at 600RPM to speed up our production rate.

The RPM adjustment is manual. I am trying to eliminate the manual adjustment and human error from the equation in running these parts, and make sure that no one can forget to adjust the RPMs and crash the machine.

I am pretty sure we can use Macro B to adjust the RPM automatically based on the part count, so that it runs the machine at 300rpm for the first 7 parts, then changes to 600RPM for the next 6 parts, then resets to 300RPM for the first half of the next tube. While I am pretty sure that this can be done, I simply don't have the skill level with Macro B syntax to be able to make it happen.

Is this actually possible?
Will someone help me with this if it is?
Please and thank you.
I appreciate your time and assistance with this in advance.

RevHaus

Hi Rev!

This should be possible. You need to create a part counter and then reference the value of the counter to use in your "S" word for RPM. Something like this:

#500=[#500+1]; (parts counter...goes up by 1 every time this line is processed)
#501=300; (default value used for spindle speed)
IF[#500GT7]THEN#501=600; (checking to see if it is time to change spindle speeds yet by referencing part count)
;
M3S[#501]; (spindle on line, using the value in macro variable "501" for the speed...either 300 or 600)
;
;