What's new
What's new

Mazak turning center with bar loader questions

jhtitan

Plastic
I have a few questions about a new turning center that is arriving soon. First the brand and model info: Mazak QT250 MSY.
We currently use an older Mazak Quick turn, too old to transfer my programs over to the new one. I am trying to get tooling ordered for the first jobs we are moving over to it and my questions are related to tooling and the bar loader we are getting with it.

I will start with the loader. Anyone know the best way to calculate the best bar length? Our jobs are typically 1000 parts or less so we opted for the Edge Rebel 80 bar loader. it has I think a 50" capacity however I would like to calculate my bar length to minimize the scrap. I have calculated my part length + 1/8" for parting tool and rounded up to the nearest 1/8". For example, part length of 9.21" + .125" rounded up would be 9.375 * 5 is 46.85 or 46.875"

This is my first time working with a bar loader or a secondary spindle, so I am not sure if I need to add any extra. This part is only getting about 3/4" of NPT on both ends.

That leads me to tooling. Do i need a left and right handed threading tool? I was thinking I could thread either direction with the threading tool but, after looking at some info I am guessing I will not have the clearance from the primary tool holder and will need a secondary spindle tool holder installed with a second tool.

Thanks for the help, or at least for taking the time to read this far.

Jon

Last edited:
I don't fully understand the bar feeder question.

Apparently your part length is 9" and not .9"?
If .9, just cut your bars 48" and forget it.
If 9", then you may want to cut 50, 50, and 44.

As for the threading toys, you will need either a LH or a RH upside down for the other end - if done on the sub.
I would go with a second RH tool so that you cane have 1 spare rather than 2.

-------------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox

yea I changed that it is 9.210"