What's new
What's new

MFG speeds & feeds recommendations vs G wizard/HSM adviser ( I am a newbie)

BWS JAZE

Plastic
Hello everyone,

I am on day 3 of trying to pick the right feeds & speeds for my first cnc part on a Tormach 1100. I am getting 3 different inputs from my sources. This is driving me nuts as it is the only part I am not confident on. This is all on a 3d adaptive tool path

I am cutting 6061 alu. with a HSS uncoated 2 flute 3/8 end mill which is pretty long. Below are the details of the end mill:

Cutting dia : .375

Flute length: 2.495

Overall length: 4.25

Body length: 3.1

Shaft dia: .375

I contacted the MFG for their recommendation and got it https://heritagecutter.com/BrubakerWeldon/PublicStore/Downloads/Brubaker M7-M42-PM End Mill-No...

CALCULATIONS FOR SPEED CALCULATIONS FOR FEED
RPM = (3.82 x SFM) / DIA. IPM = # of FLUTES x FPT x RPM
SFM = (RPM x DIA.) / 3.82 FPT = IPM / (RPM x # of FLUTES)

The Tormach 1100 does 5100 RPM and I was told to keep the RPMS up near max for alu. which means:

First I calculated the SFM:

(5100x.375) / 3.82 = 500.654 THIS IS SFM VALUE

Then, I calculated IPM

2 x .0041 x 5100 = 41.82 ( 2 flutes, what the mfg says FPT is, RPM)

So unless I am mistaken in Cam, my values should be:

5100 RPM

500.654 SFM

41.82 for lead in/out. Fusion recommends .00385 feed per tooth and when I enter the .0041 feed per tooth value the cutting feed rate goes up to 41.82 as my math suggests it should. I was comfortable with this, until I tried out G wizard and HSM adviser which recommended wildly varying values.

HSM says:

.4 DOC (maximum step down) .15 WOC (step over)

5120 RPM

1.37 in/min feed

502 in/min speed

.00013 chip load

.81 plunge feed

It also says .04HP used, .04 lb/ft of tq used, and tool deflection is in the red at .0020 deflection or 19.8%. I was told to keep deflection under .001?

G wizard says done at 50% between conservative and aggressive:

4504 RPM

14.627 IPM Feed

7.3 Plunge speed

442 SFM

.0016 chip load