What's new
What's new

Multus U3000 vs. CTX Beta 1250 TC

gregormarwick

Diamond
We are looking at installing one of these two machines in the very near future.

Immediately, you would think that the Okuma is likely a much heavier duty machine, however on paper they are almost identical. Practically the same weight, almost identical work envelope, almost identical motor ratings etc.

Cost is going to end up within spitting distance of each other when optioned equivalently.

One big difference is the Okuma uses a roller gear B, while the DMG is a direct torque motor.

I know that there are a couple of very happy Multus users (looking at you Rob, Edster) on here. Not heard of many CTX TC guys.

Having spoken to both reps I suspect that we will have superior support from DMG here, but I have no prior experience with either.

We will be purchasing for flexibility with complex parts, not cycle times. Mostly aluminium, but occasional Ti and Stainless and really we work with everything from plastics to superalloys. Accordingly, not specing a lower turret or bar package, may or may not get a subspindle as the one we have is underutilised.

There are a good few things that come standard (or are cheap options) on the DMG that are somewhat expensive options on the Okuma, like better coolant/swarf system, linear scales, what appears to be more advanced thermal management. Okuma has a much larger tool magazine as standard, and the upgraded magazine is quite expensive on the DMG. However, like I said, when it's apples to apples, price is pretty close.

I have a fondness for Gildemeister, as I used to have an old one and it was hands down the best lathe I ever ran for accuracy and finish. I am assured that the CTX is made in the Gildemeister plant in Bielefield. I don't know where the Okuma is made.

Lead time is looking similar on both.

Okuma and Celos controls are both new to me, so no preference.

Can you guys think of anything I've overlooked?

TIA, Gregor