What's new
What's new

Need advice on machining O-Ring groove

markz528

Hot Rolled
I need to make a an o-ring groove that will capture the o-ring. In the past all the o-ring grooves I machined were for static pressure using the Parker guidelines and the o-rings move around in those grooves.

The project is a valve cover adapter for a race head. The top of the adapter is screwed and glued to the cast aluminum valve cover and the bottom rail will have the o-ring. The o-ring will be either a .103 or .139 diameter. 6061-T6 material.

My understanding is that the Harvey dovetail cutter is an excellent way to go. But I don't think I have a chance in hell of being successful with it but would appreciate feedback. Not sure if I looked at the .103 or .139 one, but the Harvey guideline is 28,000 rpm and 48 ips feed. Problem! My machine is only good for 4500 rpm! Any chance I can evacuate the chips at 4500 rpm so I don't break the cutter? I'm still learning my speeds and feeds so I don't know exactly what to expect.

This is not exactly a tough sealing application so my other plan is to just machine a rectangular slot that would pinch the o-ring by a few thousandths just so it doesn't slip out. I would determine the depth by trial and error.

Suggestions?

Picture of a wooden prototype valve cover adapter and a link to a Harvey cutter.

http://www.harveytool.com/ToolTechInfo.aspx?ToolNumber=23814

rail.jpg

4500 RPM is fine, just use a slower feed (and IPM, not IPS), perhaps .0008/tooth. Mill the slot to max width first, figure out where the safest entry point is for the dovetail cutter and open that up with a regular endmill.

Chip evacuation is what you care about, at worst an air blast, better a mist setup, best a proper coolant stream. Are you doing this on a manual mill, a CNC knee mill, or ?

Thanks! I meant IPM - IPS is a company I deal with........