What's new
What's new

Need Help in Maximising Tungsten-Carbide Tool life when Machining Graphite.

bdzhy97

Plastic
Hello All :),

First, just a disclaimer: I am a beginner when it comes to CNC machining, only having three months of experience in tinkering AutoDesk Fusion 360 and only one month in Operating an old Taiwanese CNC Machine that uses an old Syntec Controller.

Secondly, I am tasked to machine a cylindrical graphite Stock using a Tungsten-Carbide flat endmill (dimensions are given below) to be used as a tool electrode for an EDM Machine to remove holes from a stainless steel plate for a coffee dripper. So far, things have been a mixed bag for me. I was able to machine one part correctly. The part I am machining is attached below, with the depth set at 5.5 mm.

At the first successful attempt,I tried going for three stepdown passes with the first and second being 2 mm and the last only being 1.5 mm. However, this takes a long time to do (cycle time is upwards of 30-40 minutes for every stepdown pass.) and the code is insanely long, with the whole .nc file itself being 21 MB big. I have decided that to increase the time, I can just use a longer stepdown length of 3 mm and to minimise the risk of the part breaking, I can manually override the Feed Motion to slow it down. Unfortunately, because of my lack of experience, this ended badly with the pins breaking in the part. :willy_nilly: Right now, I am using my previous successful method to machine the graphite even though it takes ages to do.

Does anyone know how I can improve upon my current method of machining this particular graphite stock and is my current method feasible in maximising the tungsten-carbide's tool life?

Thank you,

DeaSk1997

P.S: Here is the link to all the Image and Data of the stock and my Fusion 360 Data: CNC Files - Album on Imgur

Edit: Corrected redundant capitalization of some words as per Milland's request.

Last edited: