What's new
What's new

Need help setting up and using matsuura/yasnac mill

vegard

Aluminum
I am going to be running a matsuura MC 510, 1986 model with a yasnac controller.

picture from google

The machine had been moved to a new shop and never wired in. I wired it up today, and I will power it up on monday. From what I gather, the machine is in perfect condition, with only a couple hundred hours on it (the paint, even inside is still in great shape...)

Basically, I need to figure out how to use the yasnac controller, and how to send programs to it.

I have a laptop with Mastercam 9.1, which I would like to use. The machine has a large serial port (like printers). What kind of adapter do I need to connect it to my laptop (no serial, only USB). I am working at the University of MAryland, part time, making parts for the SAE-competition race cars, so we are working on a budget.

I have lots of experience with Fanuc (6m and 11m). How does yasnac compare? And maybe someone has a sample program that I could look at as a reference.

Thanks in advance, and Ill keep this thread updated with results and questions, and maybe post some pics once I make some parts.

- Vegard

Thanks for the reply, I have tons of 6m programs to look at, and your website is a good one. That is good news that they are similar. You said almost identical... whats the difference?

Thanks.

- Vegard

You can get a USB to serial (rs232) converter and software. Then a null modem adaptor then an RS232 cable to the machine. Set it up 7 even 1 at both ends....I think my 510 would transmit at 9700 baud. That needs to be the same at both ends. You will need to set up the port and the cimco the same as well
Hope this helps

On the older Yasnac:
The cutter comp is the same, so are all the drill cycles, G-Codes and regular programming.
The G54-G59 input looks a little different on the screen but is used the same.
They had a couple of extra cycles, a G12(CW) and G13(CCW) for milling complete circles.