What's new
What's new

In Need of Knurling Help

lhefner

Plastic
I have very little background in knurling and am struggling to get a good looking knurl on a job I am currently setting up. I am working on a Euro Tech Trofeo 481, Using a 16TPI male diamond single wheel bump knurling tool. Before knurling, I am Turning my blank diameter (material is 303 stainless) to .437 with the hope of achieving a diameter which will allow for an even number of teeth per inch on the part... My goal end diameters .450 +/-.01. To knurl, I am feeding straight onto the part at F:.007 to a depth of .4088 ( 45% of the TPI pitch of my knurl past the turned pre knurl diameter) and allowing the tool to dwell for 1 second at max depth before rapiding directly off the part. Despite following every suggestion I can find online, I am still unable to get a consistent knurl. I have tried adjusting feed in speeds and depths however no matter what I do I cant seem to avoid bad double tracking marks on the part. Any type of suggestions or methods which have proven successful would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I have very little background in knurling and am struggling to get a good looking knurl on a job I am currently setting up.

Not knowing what your budget is or how many you're making, I'd still suggest an Eagle Rock Scissor knurl tool. We have two of them in the shop running on CNCs and getting pretty good results. Bump knurls require a lot of in-feed pressure making them a little rough on CNC ball screws. With the scissor knurl setup all of the pressure is contained in the tool and not loaded on the ball screw.