New Machine Day- Speedio 700 with 4th and 16k Garage shop setup + a few issues - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Washington
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Pete Deal View Post
    Sounds like open delta. Your transformer specs don't add up. 1.5kva??? 16/32vac sec??? The machine is like 10kva. I used a 15kva american rotary xformer. Pretty nice about $900 on ebay.

I think it was this one:
    15 kVA 240D/208D Volt Primary to 208D/240D Volt Secondary 3 Phase Transformer | eBay

I'm no expert but I avoided an open delta transformer configuration for this reason. I like the idea of the inductance of a transformer on all legs between the machine and the line.
    That method is the ideal way to do it. However, the way he's got it, if the transformers are after the RPC, it can handle a little above 19 kVA with those transformers. It doesn't make sense I know, but that's how it works out. You can play around with it here: HPS Buck Boost Calculator

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Washington
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I have a 10K high torque, running a similar setup with no issues. That said, I have two RPCs, so maybe they are soaking up the dumped voltages better. I also don't know what your setup as a whole looks like.

I modified the Speedio Fusion post to drop the RPM down to 8K before stopping the spindle for a tool change or at the end of a job. (this only happens if the spindle was already above 8K) I picked 8k to handle situations like a heavier face mill, etc. It's simple enough but I tested it on my machine and it works fine. The spindle speed changes so fast on these you'll probably barely notice.

Let me know if you'd like to try it.