What's new
What's new

New to machining and having second op issues

ukkie

Plastic
Hi Guys,

I'm wondering if anyone would be able to help me or explain what i could possibly be doing wrong??

First of ( if you havent already guessed) I'm very new to machining. I literarily used CAD/CAM (Fusion 360)and a CNC machine for the first time only 12 weeks ago!. I decided to take the crazy jump without ever touching a machine and buy a new Haas VF4SS and just throw myself in the deep end. Ive seemed to pick up the software side no bother and im pretty familiar with the machine now also but on the second op I seem to be about .2mm out or offset on every cut. It seems consistent with the opposite side so if one side is out by .2,then the other seems to be in by .2 if that makes sense? Im not sure if its a stock offset issue on fusion360 I'm doing or if its a workholding issue.

Here is a typical workflow that I'm doing.

I tram in my vise on the machine. I have machined parallels in the vise to sit my stock onto and I have put a stop on one side of the vise. I then put a 123 block hard up to the stop on the vice and use the Wips (renishaw) touch probe to set my G54 XY right in the corner. Then i put the stock in the vise and set my Z to the top. At this point I also touch off all the tools ill be using to make sure all the offsets are correct.

On my CAM I begin the first op with the datum showing the top corner of my stock which relates to the XY position on the machine. I then run the program without any issue. When I flip the part i change the datum on the part to be on the model this time. Normally a similar edge to tie in with the XY on the machine, and I retouch of Z. When I flip the part however I dont really alter the stock much on cam from the first op. Should I be setting the stock offset to zero stock as the sides have now been machined??