What's new
What's new

New member asks about Paper tape reader/punch

mubase

Plastic
Hi all. My name is Steve and I live in London. I am an audio repair technician and audio/computer/electronics DIY enthusiast.
I recently picked up not 1 but 3 paper tape punch readers. They are Siemens T1560 models. Made in the mid 1980s, they are RS232 standard 5 hole machines. I have repaired 2 and have one more to fix. I did this without a manual as I can't find ANY info on the internet about these machines.
I would like to ask if ANYONE has heard of the Siemens T1560 Paper tape attachment. They are long, off white colour and use a GNT36 as the punch and a Ghielmetti FER203 as the reader. I want to convert one of them from 5 hole to 8 hole. If anyone has one of these machines or a manual I would love to know.
Thanks for any help or interest,
Steve.S London (UK.)

No help to you, but I'm trying to imagine what these could possibly be used for? I used then in the early - mid seventies as a crude communication device but as soon as a pc with a serial port came along, didn't these become dinosaurs? Is this just a hobby ?

Tape readers and punches need to be preserved for posterity !

Many a CNC machine has it's original parameters issued as an oiled paper tape and is the 'ultimate back up'. I have them for my Fanuc 6 based Fanuc Tapecut Model M EDM machine, and aso for my TX8F controlled Traub TND350G 5 axis CNC lathe.

I have two paper tape readers myself - Facit 4070's.

When I worked for Ferranti decades ago we used paper tape frequently as a test program media - tape readers were ICL TR6's and GNT XXX - don't remember the numbers. Later systems used the Facit 4070.

If you need 1" paper tape I have cornered the worlds supply in a big pile of boxes :)

Tape readers and punches need to be preserved for posterity !

If you need 1" paper tape I have cornered the worlds supply in a big pile of boxes :)