What's new
What's new

Newb: Older 3+2 Haas setup- COR job setup, Z off -.01 cheat adj Question?

countryguy

Hot Rolled
To be honest- the Son and I are newbs in 3+2 Totally self-taught, Youtube, PM forums and Other reading for these first debugging runs
98 Haas OS, Soldiworks w/ HSMWorks CAM. TRT style setup in 3+2 w/ Z tool orientation.
Issue; We come out too deep by -.01 on heights. And he say's it is only in heights on his part when it comes off? length and widths on the actual part seem to come out fine. Something we are just not getting....We're confused why its off on the tops of his part.

The kids measured his COR 2x. re-validated everything. regular 3 axis stuff comes out perfectly. Z is to a few tens. We're stymied where the error is being introduced but I think it's a bit of a few things.

So... I wanted tell the lad to just move the ZG54 .01 (Z-COR) up to compensate for the overcut? He thinks he should just move it in the CAM stl model.
Anywho... not sure if it matters which. He's moving it now for a test.

Ya'know.... I did ask him to make a test part, and try a few different cutters on Z. take a few cuts w/ 2 or 3 tools and see if it's consistent... updated- Several tested. same results...)

But.. since we're so new I wondered if anyone here might have a comment or two? or a suggestion. learning.... How to check precision on a 3_2 setup is something we're trying to learn here.

Enjoy , be safe, Take care.

The best way to set up a 5 axis is to have a single offset that corresponds to the XYZ at the center of rotation, and the A and B axis rotated to match the cad. (Disregarding Dynamic Work Offsets since you have an older machine)

The key is to have everything set-up accordingly in Solidworks. In other words, the XYZ origin is correctly placed in cad and the part is rotated the same as it is going to be in the machine.