What's new
What's new

Newbie: Just bought G0704 Mill, need advice on end mills and which table clamp/vice

addman16

Plastic
Hey guys,

My first post, I want to start by saying I'm a total newbie to machining and I wanted to dive right in and start with manual hand machining and hope to later convert my g0704 into a CNC.

First question is should I buy a table vice or clamping kit?

Second question is the T-Slots specifications state 3 @ 2.5 inch, center 1/2 inch wide, what does this mean, how do I read the numbers and select the appropriate vice or clamp.

Third I have an idea of the end mills I want, I will be cutting aluminum almost exclusively. After some research it appears a 3 flute carbide end mill would be a good fit. What is the best kind of beginners kit to purchase, perhaps I should buy something cheap because I will be breaking them since I am learning. Could you point me to a kit that is good for beginners?

Thank you guys and I look forward to learning more.

I'm in the same boat as you. I just bought a Grizzly G0619 and need to get tooling. I'm really considering buying the Harbor Freight set. Because like you said, I'll be breaking end mills learning how to machine parts. I'll break the cheap stuff and replace it with better stuff. Hopefully this will also show me what mills I will be using the most so I'm not buying things I don't need.

Also look up T slot bolts on the Grizzly website to see what you will need for your machine.

Last edited:
Just FYI, this thread will be locked shortly. This is a forum for professionals, and discussion of hobby grade machines (anything Grizzly, Harbor Freight, Craftsman, etc) is strictly forbidden. You can ask any questions about machining that you like, just don't mention the machine you're using.

Yes, a 3 flute carbide endmill is what you want.

The T-slot spacing sounds self explanatory to me. 3 slots on 2.5" centers, 1/2" wide each.

Not sure why you brought up the ugly G word or Horrible Fright?