What's new
What's new

Newby - Jeweler looking for someone to machine tantalum rings

jry65

Plastic
I'm new here and not a machinist. I am a jeweler and jewelry designer.
I am looking for someone who can machine some tantalum rings for me.

Initially it would just be a few samples so I can test customer feedback.
Then, hopefully they start selling and we can place more orders.

I'm hoping to find a shop that would be cool with making small quantities.

Please ping me if you are interested, or know someone who would be.

Thank you!
Ron

Attachments

• tantalum ring.jpg
    tantalum ring.jpg
    23.5 KB · Views: 338
Hi jry65:
Have you ever worked with Tantalum before?
It's a shitty material to machine...you might have some difficulty finding anyone to take this on.

Cheers

Marcus

I worked my fair share of tantalum, crap to cut. and it isn't a visually nice metal, yes it's expensive and something the average person hasn't heard of, but I can't see why someone would want jewelry out of it.

I have never even heard of tantalum. I thought someone was misspelling titanium.

Hey Marcus,

No I haven't. But my customers love new materials and several have mentioned that they saw some Tantalum rings and liked them.
And I want to do something pretty unique with my designs.

Benchmark Wedding Rings (a mfg'er/wholesaler) has been selling them for a few years, and several jewelers I know that carry the line have done well with them. I don't want to sell the same designs Benchmark sells, or carry their brand.

There's some cool stuff out there in tantalum.
Browse Rings | Benchmark Rings
Tantalum ring | Etsy
Grew & Co. › Masculine

No. "Johnny Larue" was the self proclaimed Tantalum expert. John Weldon was alright. I'd like to see him come back around too...

So this is the 2nd or 3rd time I've seen someone quote Big B without seeing the original post... Did he get banned? Or did he delete all his posts and leave? I know he and Spinit have been going at it...