What's new
What's new

Now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

plutoniumsalmon

Hot Rolled
Hello.
I just bought a new Haas VF2 and now need your guys help. Before it arrives I thought it prudent to get my ducks in order as far as all the other stuff to make it run is concerned. Perhaps you can advise on what I need to get started. I know a vise from orange, chick, or kurt is something that I need as well as tooling and tool holders. But what specifically should I purchase to start running basic aluminum parts. Surfacing bits, end mills drills, what else? What other things do you find useful? Carts, de-burring tools etc?

I am sorry if I come off as a total noob, and that is because that I am, but there was an opportunity to get a great deal on the machine that I can grow into for a really long time so I jumped into the deep end, rotary and all.

Oh and I am familiar with CNC for wood but not for metal.

Thank you so much.

If it's a "NEW" new machine, your HFO should offer you training. If it's a "new to you" machine, you still might ask a your local HFO (Haas Factory Outlet) what a training session would cost. You'll want to get to know them for support and repair of the machine anyway. As far as tooling and related items, we need a better idea of what you want to make, and what your budget is. You also need a good air compressor, which must have a very good water trap/separator - these machines need clean, moisture-free air to run. Don't forget to make sure the machine has a solid foundation to rest on, and is properly leveled to achieve accurate cutting conditions.

Hello.