What's new
What's new

OD thread milling help / Questions

helocat

Aluminum
I have a steel part 3” OD that we weld a top plate to. We are looking to add threads to the OD of the part the fastest way possible after the welding is done. We only need 1.5” of threads and looking at 12tpi but can go 10tpi. Thinking thread milling would be the fastest as we can mount multiple of these parts on a custom pallet. (We make 600 per run)

I have never done thread milling before do you cut it in multiple passes or just one shot? Am I thinking right this would be about a 30 second or so cut?

DO thread mills hold up past 600 parts? Can they be sharpened?

Can an OD thread mill also cut ID threads? Seams the same to me but the tooling guys all have them listed as OD/ID.

Would be cutting these on a Haas VF2SS.

If you have a lathe, it may be quicker to thread the part before welding. Most threadmills can be used on ID and OD, as long as it will fit inside the hole.

Tool life will depend on material. Thread mills are expensive. I would opt for turning them, if possible.

I'd agree with turning them if you can. If you can't turn them then I'd say to steer clear of solid carbide. They're expensive and there's no way one tool will last you for that entire run. Check out the Vargus MiTM line or something similar for indexable tooling, that way if you need another thread mill somewhere down the line you might be able to get away with at least using the same body and ordering different inserts.

Doubtful you could get it in one pass. Probably one pass and a spring pass would do it though.

An inserted thread mill isn't going to cut 1-1/2 of thread in one swipe. You'll have to make passes at least 4-5 different depths.