What's new
What's new

Okuma Genos M560

Spaztor

Plastic
So I will start this out with the statement that I'm new at this hole Machining center thing. We have had bridgeports and manual lathes for years last year we bought two new prototrak bedmill and lathe. This year we stepped in the deep end with an Okuma Genos M560 high pressure TSC probe just basics. I have learned a lot just playing with it but also from these forum's. The thing we are going thru now that im hoping to get some feedback on is tooling. We went with some middle of the line holders SECO ER25P ER16 and fixed EM holders. Double octomill face mills with .5-1 inch feed mills as well. We are happy with the tooling my machine literally looks like the fancy videos you see of the feed mills ripping and shitting. But I'm having a bit of an issue finding a good variety of end mills that will hold up and not break the bank. We are a custom machine builder so most of our jobs are one or two of a part to build a machine times that by 1000-1500 parts on a machine so lots of setups we keep three different vises on the table to help speed changeover up.

I have ran the gamit with Iscar, Niagra, Guhring, the higher grade Accupro, and a few cheaper end mills as well. We have noticed great tool life from the stabilizer 2.0 but not great finishes we get great finishes using Accupro HS Series 6-7 flute end mills but I feel like there has to be something else out there worth trying. We machine a lot of 1018 and A2 with a good amount of 4140PHT. Appreciate any feedback.

Niagara is good stuff, the 6 flute eccentric ground mill in particular. The guhring diver mills are decent but overall the Guhring line doesn't impress me.