What's new
What's new

Okuma OSP7000L LB15 II MY spindle won't start in manual mode

hanimex

Plastic
Hi

I bought a LB15II MY from my old employer, It's been a couple of years since I operated it and during that time it's developed a new quirk. It won't start the spindle in MANUAL mode which is going to become a real nuisance.:angry:

I can start the spindle in MDI but as soon as I switch to MANUAL the spindle stops or MID AUTO MANUAL the spindle stops and the S.T.M light flashes. Once I'm in MANUAL or MID AUTO MANUAL the spindle JOG,CW and CCW buttons are effectively useless, they beep and in the DATA CHECK page you can see it's getting the signal but there's no movement from the spindle. Everything works as it should in AUTO mode but again, if I change to MID AUTO MANUAL the spindle stops and S.T.M starts flashing. Results are the same with the M spindle.

I'm pretty new to this machine so any advice would be superb.

Many thanks

:angry: Don;t get mad at the machine, there's probably nothing wrong with it, this is OE. :D

Manual and Mid-Auto work a little differently, so lets deal with one at a time. In MANUAL mode; 1. Chuck on the workpiece (sometimes 2x, Chuck-unchuck-Chuck). 2. Check that the Proximity switch on the draw tube, closest to the Operators side is lit, while the one on the far side is NOT. 3. In switch to MDI, enter and activate a max spindle speed (G50 S2000) Cycle that. and enter an S command (G97 S500) and cycle that. 4. Switch back to Manual mode, Turn the Chuck by hand to make sure M110 is not engaged, and press the Spindle CW button.

There are other elements that could effect you, like if your tailstock condition is not correct. But if you do 1-4 and the Spindle still doesn't run, check back and I'll see what I can do.

Robert

:angry: Don;t get mad at the machine, there's probably nothing wrong with it, this is OE. :D