What's new
What's new

Picking out first new machine. Anyone have experince with Ellison in NC?

Djstorm100

Cast Iron
Hey Guys.

Short story:
-Bought a Tormach 2 years ago, self taught
-I have 3 products that sell well but I do get a lot of side jobs.
-Tbout 75% of the side jobs I can' do because of 1) accuracy 2) can't fit it in my work envelope to make any money.
-Tightest tolerance for my product is 0.002 and it's a profile. Took me a while to dial this in on the tormach but it's still a long process of using tool compensation.

It’s going to come down to Haas VF2/3ss or Doosan Dnm 4500s/5700:
S

Long story:
I've reach point where I can pay for a machine in full. I had my heart on Haas because it's what I can hit the ground running. However a 86k bill for a VF2 stings...a lot. However a friend, who I respect greatly, told me to look at Doosan.

For the list price being the same, Monday I'm talking hard numbers, it's hard not to choose the Doosan over the Haas. Material I cut is brass & alum. The job work I get is mostly alum but some steel. Doosan is no doubt more capable at cutting steel/exoitc more efficiently. I just started to think of making a few of my products in titanium and other materials that I now would be able to cut, on either Haas or Doosan.

I'm looking at a DNM 4500s..Although I've honestly though about spending the extra money and getting a 5700s (I have the space for it and power)

I hear good and bad about Phillips (HFO) and Ellison, however I hear more bad about Ellison as a whole. This is a big leap for me and I'm nervous and want to make sure I do this right. Tooling I already have spec'ed out. Over head is extremely low.