What's new
What's new

Pivot type joint

sayluv

Plastic
Hi-

I make braces and artificial limbs for a living and I have no experience in CNC. I would like to make a smaller adjustable ankle or joint out of aluminum. Here is a picture of what I am trying to fabricate but I would like to make it smaller. It is esentially just to sticks with circles on the ends and they rotate about a center axis. One of them also has holes drilled around the border and a set screw on each end so that we can control the range they rotate about each other.

joint.jpg

Range of Motion Joint - MultiMotion™ Contracture Management - Contracture Management & ROM Joints | Allard USA - Support For Better Life!

My question is. If I am able to mill out the two pieces how do I join them in the middle so that they can rotate about the center axis without getting bound up? I think if I used 1/8" alumniun it would likely be strong enough. I could use a chicago screw and washers to hold it togther but I think the joint wouldn't rotate smoothly. Are there parts that I can use for the center post available online?

Any help would be appreciated.

thx, j

With the joint being the likely failure point, could you specify the loads and uses of the assembly and its critical-ness? Is this a prototype or in-use part that will be used by a person or is this just a proof of concept or something that won't actually be relied upon? That will determine what you need and can do. Chicago screws are fine for something that goes in your pocket. In real use for someone's ankle, something much more serious is probably needed, but this also looks like this is only one small part of a bigger assembly?

Hi-