What's new
What's new

Poor Tool Life Tapping 0-80 Thread in 360 1/2 Hard Brass

Nerdlinger

Stainless
I have very little personal experience with this particular process, but the guys I work with have been complaining about tapping this 0-80 hole because the tap life is so variable (i.e. 2,000 pcs vs 20 pcs). So here's the deal:

Machine - late 90's Hardinge GT Super Precision
Control - Fanuc 18T
Material - 5/32" diameter 360 1/2 hard brass
Part length - .075"
Tap - OSG Hy-Pro Tin coated 0-80 Form Tap
Tap Depth - .125"
Tap Drill - #55 all the way through the part plus a little deeper than the cutoff so the drill mark is still into the next part. (My chart says #54 for a form tap so maybe there's something there.)
Oil/Coolant - dry
Speed - S250
Code -

N25(0-80 TAP)
(FORM TAP)
(USE .052 #54 FOR NOGO AFTER TAP)
M9
G4U.3
M9
G4U1.
G10P0Z-.400
G97S250M3
T25
G0Z1.
G0X0
M36
G0Z.05

G99
G32Z-.120F.0125
M5
M4
G32Z.05F.011 (this has been changed too F.012 and F.0125 for some reason)
M9
G0Z1.
M37
T0
M1

(See attached pic) We're using one of those Tapmatic rigid tapping adaptors but maybe that's not enough float?

I called OSG and they said the RPMS were way too low. We stepped up to S750 and it broke on the first one. They also said we should use some coolant of some sort so we will try putting on a temporary M08 with oil prior to tapping but I am not all that hopeful.

Do you guys have any ideas? Sometimes there is a little flake of material on the tap after tapping...I wouldn't think should be there. Also, the guys I work with are confident that if they put a drop of tap magic on the tap before each part it will last forever.

So maybe just a M08G4U1M09 is all we need but I wanted to see if anyone saw anything else we are obviously doing wrong

Thank you!

IMG_3625.jpg

Hey, you don't have to take pictures in landscape anymore! :cloud9:

FWIW, I make a part from C360 that gets a 4-40 in the end. I run coolant, and run the tap pretty slow due to a tight thread depth spec.