What's new
What's new

Drilling angled hole Mazak t plus

Ianagos

Stainless
Good morning I recently purchased a Mazak live tool lathe with a t plus controller but it does not have a y axis. I am interested in drilling angled holes in a part. E.g. if the z axis was 0 degrees say I want to drill in at 45 degrees. Like with a Z X move. I know I can purchase adjustable angle live tools so it seems like it’s possible. But I know nothing about the controller does anyone know if it’s possible?

The machine does not have the eia option. I assume if I had that option I’d be able to program it with normal gcode? Does anyone know if it can be added?

Thanks for your help guy I appreciate any answers.

Wow that makes sense it does have that. I’m pretty new to the Mazak controller. At least I know after I break a few drills I’ll probably be able to do it.

Do you know anything about adding the eia option?

Which control is mostly irrelevant. If you can get the holder at the right Angle, and input G-code (EIA for Mazak).

The problem you're going to have is accel/decel, when to Rapid and Feed. Positioning and sequence. You are not going to able to use a Canned cycle. The math is going to take a while to prove out (might be not possible). It wasn't designed to do that, and the Ladder needs to support it. Basically it will reflect 1-2 Ratio for X and Z, but that's basically, not optimal. Your Drill is going to be Feeding in Z while it's in the Hole, so do you want an elongated hole in X or Z? If the Ladder doesn't support the infeed as opposed to the Axial feed, it won't work. It might if you can change the G17-18-19 work planes.....

But please try it and let us know how it goes.

R

Which control is mostly irrelevant. If you can get the holder at the right Angle, and input G-code (EIA for Mazak).