Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Profit Milling

Hello, I'm new in this forum (never in a forum before) and i'm a newbie at programming CNCs. I recently program a rough cycle using profit milling and even though the chips are flying and the tool can handle the the feeds and speeds, it seems like the machine shakes violently when doing small steps around the work piece. I know I can slow it down so the machine would not shake. Everything seems to be fine except the shaking of the machine. The shaking concerns me. If I don't slow down my rougher and the machine keeps shaking will the machine, spindle, ball bearings get damage overtime?

Thank you

Loui

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Loui View Post
    If I don't slow down my rougher and the machine keeps shaking will the machine, spindle, ball bearings get damage overtime?
    Yes they will be damaged.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Oregon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

1 - Make sure that look ahead/shape comp is turned on and set appropriately. Most Esprit posts will require you to manually add a tolerance setting in the custom fields. VERY few people are using look ahead correctly, and it is absolutely required for HSM on most machines.

2 - It's been a while, but I believe Esprit will allow you to add fillets to the toolpaths. Bigger fillets will lead to less "shakey" motion.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Thank you all! I am using Esprit. I will make sure my settings are correct.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Michigan
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Qt:[machine shakes violently] can lead to broken cutters..