What's new
What's new

Question About CNC, what machine do I Need .

spurst

Aluminum
Hello I am new here, so please be gentle. I am making Worms And Shafts for a tool we sell out of 304 stainless, make about 500 each, every three months they are casted then turned by china no good 20+ 0/0 scrap rate. One worm is 60 degree thread, 0.147 deep, 4 TPI, one inch long, 1.05 Dia with a thru hole 1/2" that has to be close to tolerance for press fit to shaft, and the other one is same only smaller with 5 TPI, and the shafts are straight forward just three steps in size from 5/8" down to 1/4" 2.40" long also Stainless. My Question is, we want to get rid of casting, or casted then we do the machining, or just make them from rod stock. I have no CNC experience, just manual lathe and slow. If we were to get a used CNC lathe, what would we need to turn these parts, room is limited space in climate controlled part of our shop. The 2 shafts and 2 worms is all it would be used for. Thanks for any HELP

Hello I am new here, so please be gentle. I am making Worms And Shafts for a tool we sell out of 304 stainless, make about 500 each, every three months they are casted then turned by china no good 20+ 0/0 scrap rate. One worm is 60 degree thread, 0.147 deep, 4 TPI, one inch long, 1.05 Dia with a thru hole 1/2" that has to be close to tolerance for press fit to shaft, and the other one is same only smaller with 5 TPI, and the shafts are straight forward just three steps in size from 5/8" down to 1/4" 2.40" long also Stainless. My Question is, we want to get rid of casting, or casted then we do the machining, or just make them from rod stock. I have no CNC experience, just manual lathe and slow. If we were to get a used CNC lathe, what would we need to turn these parts, room is limited space in climate controlled part of our shop. The 2 shafts and 2 worms is all it would be used for. Thanks for any HELP

Why not simply get a machine shop stateside to make them for you ?