What's new
What's new

Question for any experienced machinst

Zoob

Plastic
Hello!

I'm very new to this so please bare with me here. I'm interested in becoming a machinist. My goal is to be able to buy my own CNC machine in order to start my own knife company. The local community college offers a CNC program and I was thinking about starting there. Are those programs typically worth the time?

I want to purchase my own shop and machine about 3 years from now. I have the funds and the time and I want this to be an operation ran only by my wife and I. The goal is to be able to run that machine by myself by that time and not have to hire a machinist to run things for me. I work 3 months on 3 months off so I plan on using my time off to educate myself and potentially take some of these college courses/apprentice/whatever you guys suggest.Is this dream of mine possible? Am I crazy to assume I can solely operate a CNC mill and maybe a lathe within 3 years from now?

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks for your time guys.

Am I crazy to assume I can solely operate a CNC mill and maybe a lathe within 3 years from now?

Absolutely not. Start with a used machine. You'd be surprised how cheap they are. Reach out to shops and see if they're looking to sell any of their machines. For knives you don't need a large machine. What's the worst that can happen? Failure is better than regret.

Thanks for the encouraging words! I've scoped out the price of some used machines I'm not worried about money or funding really, more so that when I decide to do this I'm gonna go all in. So I don't want to spend months and months hitting snags that halt my operation due to my lack of knowledge or experience.

Hi Z00b, Welcome