What's new
What's new

Questions about rigid taping with a form tap.

gundog

Hot Rolled
I am new to using a VMC and rigid taping and so far the holes I have tapped have been fairly shallow one diameter in thickness. I have a part I am getting ready to program some 1/4" - 20 holes in a 1" thick part the threads will be blind and I want to thread in .500". Should I peck this once or do it in one pass. The material is 6061 T6 the machine has flood coolant. I have been taping my shallow holes at 1000 RPM.
Thanks Mike

Form tapping just do it in one shot no pecking. Form taps aren’t fond of pecking and the momentum of doing it in one shot is actually better

Wind ‘er up and just make sure that your minor diameter is correct and you shouldn’t have any issues.

Greetings.

1/4-20 half an inch deep in 6061? One shot all the way home. With form taps, there's not much to be gained by pecking, since you don't need to clear the chips.
I normally tap pretty much anything under 1/2-13 at 500 RPM, with a 1000 RPM reverse, just to save wear-and-tear on the spindle drive trying to stop the thing and reverse it on a dime. (Big Daewoo VMC. Much mass.)
The 10-15 seconds per run it saves to tap faster is offset by the eventual PITA factor of having to fix the spindle.
Or, at least I own it, and if it fries, I'll be the poor bastard trying to fix it. So I baby it when I can.

Regards,
Brian

We do these at 1200-6000rpm on our Speedios depending on material. 6061 we'll go 3000-6000rpm depending on the exact tap we're using (older taps pulled from the drawer tend to have trouble at faster speeds versus getting a new quality tap LOL). No peck with roll form. Most of our holes are blind and so we form tap just about everything 1/4" or smaller since the spiral flute taps just aren't strong enough in sizes smaller than that (for us).