What's new
What's new

Really annoying run out issue

ukkie

Plastic
Hi Guys,

I'm wondering if anyone can shed any light on what could be going wrong with my run out...

I'm using shrink fit holders and new solid carbide cutters yet I'm reading runouts as high as 40 microns on the Renishaw OTS. I initially thought that might need calibrated but the OTS seems to repeat within 0-3 microns every time. If I use one of the old shrink fit holders with a coated tool I can get it to down to around 3-4 microns. If I use a carbide tool it a about 35 microns out. I have 2 new holders that are also 30 microns or so out and the tool manufacturer has told me that the cutters cant physically be out that far as their machine rejects bar that's out by 6 microns...

I'm very new to machining so there is a high possibility that I'm doing something daft. Can the reading on the diameter (rotating) give a different reading as its only touching off on 2 parts? or should it still read exact even on something like an endmill? Also is it likely that a holder could be out? I am making sure everything is well cleaned before I put the tool in the holder and I've cleaned the spindle also.

Any help guys would be much appreciated.. I've been stuck on this for days now!

Thanks in advance

What does an indicator tell you? Runout should be dialed in via indicator, the tool probe I don't believe is able to tell you runout, but merely rotating dimension. One feeds the other, but sometimes cutters are just over or under

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Hi Guys,

I'm wondering if anyone can shed any light on what could be going wrong with my run out...