What's new
What's new

Recommend a CNC drill line

Whetstone

Cast Iron
We drill and tap a lot of lengths of flat bar for the custom projects we produce at our architectural metal shop. Most items are a few inches up to 120” and have a run of 3-10 drill and counter sunk or tapped holes to assemble the finished items. Our projects are one off custom items that are built to fit our clients homes and are not repeated.

Currently I have a burgmaster turret drill with a manual y axis and 144” linear positioner on the x axis. The setup is shop built and while works it is just not as accurate, predictable or easy to use as I would like for my employees. I need to hold a tolerance of .005” to .010” for part to bolt up or look right. All parts are made in solidworks and I can easily generate a hole table with x/y locations.

I would like to find a purpose built machine that is easy to use and holds a tolerance of at least .005”. Recommendations for machines to research would be very helpful. Our parts are very quick to make so we dont need full CNC as cycle times are very short and each part has a unique hole patten and will never be made again. Someone will be standing in front of the machine, but am not adverse to CNC.

Material is stainless and bronze/brass and typically ranges from 1/2 square bar to 1x4 flat bar. We will also do square tube up to 4”. I would like a minimum of at least 12” in y and 120” in x.

I have yet to establish a budget, but if I could find something for $25k I’d buy it today. 50-100k I’d have to think about. I found a FlexCNC which looks about perfect but cost 200k which is out of my budget. I’ve thought about a gantry router with a drill head but don’t know if it’s rigid enough. A structural beam line is similar but I need it to be higher precision and scaled down to my material. Does anyone have recommendation on specific machines to look at. Or a specific type of machine that I should be looking up or completely other ideas?