What's new
What's new

Renishaw install, fanuc connection manual

jimbojones10000

Plastic
Hello,

I'm pretty new to CNC machining, and have until now not resorted to asking for help!

Ive got my machine up and running(hardinge GX710 Fanuc 0im) and decided i need a probe, got a cheap MP10 and OMM+MI12, ive just got back a quote from Hardinge to fit it, they want£3100!!!! 2 days at £680 a day, plus the shank and ring gauge, plus the software license.

I understand that there is a need for professionals installation of things but ive had a look at the MI12 box and manual and there seems nothing to it, the only sticking point being the lack of the Fanuc connection manual, there is a 5 week lead time on fanuc manuals as they print them for you(madness!).

I was wondering if someone could advise me as to how tricky wiring in and setting up a probe is(all the parts are NOS so shouldnt be knackered), from the hardinge quote it seems i dont need any more equipment(i thought from looking in the back of the machine perhaps i needed some break out board, but they havent listed one).

I dont really want hardinge(UK) installing it anyway as they have to be the grumpiest and least helpful and understanding bunch ive had to deal with. They really make you dread ringing them up.

Thanks for any help.

If you can get to the Renishaw documentation, it will walk you through the connections.
Granted, then you need software. Either bought, or written by you...

The Renishaw manuals were available online. Sorry, a bit busy to do the search today.
Maybe later.
Let us know.

Call Renishaw and find out how much they want to fit it

I think they were charging about £3500 at the Mach show for a probe+installation.

Boris

Heidenhain 530.... open the back and top of machine, run cable from IR reciever to port X42(I think it is).... then its got to be set up and calibrated :eek:

Hello,

I'm pretty new to CNC machining, and have until now not resorted to asking for help!