What's new
What's new

resurfacing cylinder heads

Leecho

Plastic
Im a new machinist and am new to grinding although i've studied it. I wanna learn how to shave and grind cylinder heads but my automechanics teacher, not a machinist himself, says that u have to grind in one pass with a huge grinder otherwise if u make multiple passes it leaves "lines". Im talking about grinding on a 1.5hp milling machine since my shop and budget arent big enough for a huge machine. It doesnt make sense to me that if everything else is done right, that it would be impossible to grind a uniformly flat surface with more than one pass.

Your teacher is right that a large single pass tool is typically used, but I'm not sure it's 100% required.

But, your small 1.5hp mill is probably the wrong tool for the job just because most Bridgeport type mills cannot make large flat surfaces reliably.

thanks for the fast response and the intel. yeah bigger ones are better cuz one pass is much faster. im getting a jet jmd-40gh in about a month as a step up from my grizzly mini milldrill. im gonna b practicing a lot b4 doing it for $, but if smaller mills are not reliable i will hope it works but in case it doesnt i wont open a business betting on the jet.

im getting a jet jmd-40gh in about a month as a step up from my grizzly mini milldrill.

You might want to peruse the Sticky in the general section (where your thread should
have been started) about Jet and grizzly machines.

If you face modern TTY alloy heads on a toy grinder ,the job will have to be done over on a proper machine.....Assuming there is enough margin left......the hard shim gaskets used wont seal for five minutes if the head face is lees than a perfect mirror.