What's new
What's new

Rookie questions

ricknsharon

Plastic
Please bear with me, I'm almost ready for retirement, I've had 45+ years of *limited* experience on manual lathes/mills, but never as a full-time job so I consider myself a mix between a total rookie and novice. So please be kind to me, I'm still learning....

We're a small engineering company and have problems finding shops to machine prototypes in a timely fashion. So to expedite R&D time we purchased a used Ganesh GT1323 CNC lathe. All of our work is small parts, 2" dia x 6" long or less, a mix of aluminum and some stainless steel. Most of it will be a one-of-a-kind, but we have a few low volume parts we will make on it.

1. One of the low volume parts (less than 100/year) will require a #1 Morse taper hole (thru hole) in both aluminum and SS303. Would it be better to use a ream or a boring bar to cut the taper? The small end of the hole is only .369" dia. so it would have to be a small boring bar. If I use a ream would I drill it slightly less than the small size and ream the rest?

2. I need to cut a M6x1.0 male thread on several aluminum parts but need to have a tool that is very narrow and will need to cut the threads on the chuck-side of the part. The right-hand threading insert holder we have will not work for this operation so I'll be purchasing a left-hand threading tool but would like to have it as narrow as possible to minimize waste and have minimum overhang out of the chuck. I see some cut-off tool holders that say they can also thread and appear to be narrower than a threading tool holder. Any suggestions?

3. What is a good source of lathe tooling (3/4" square)? The lathe came with four Shars tooling kits and seem to hold up fine for what we do, but they have a very limited selection of tooling.