What's new
What's new

Rotary table help

CJD

Aluminum
I have what was originally a Boss Bridgeport mill that I just finished upgrading to Centroid’s Allin1DC system. The install went well for the X,Y and Z, but I am a bit stumped on the W...or rotary axis.

The rotary table I have is a substantial item, weighing at least 150 pounds. It is hooked up to a Centroid DC1 driver, so it does spin with the Jog panel, but I am not sure where to go from there. I’m a complete newby to this. There are 3 lone wires coming out of the side of the table, which I assume are for the home sensor. It also has 2 fittings that leak oil if I turn the table on its side. The Centroid rep was asking me about “clamps” and such...and I have no idea.

If any of you can help me with the basics of a rotary table I would really appreciate it. Namely, how does the homing sensor work? It has black,/red/and blue wires, but which is what and what kind of voltage will it want? Then, are the fittings for an oiling system, or a pneumatic clamp?

Thanks...

Most homing sensors are proximity switches that sense presence of a steel protrusion or magnet on the rotary ring gear. This is not always true but in general red or brown=24v, blue=0v (ground), and black is the signal wire which will be either NPN (sinks to ground when switch active) or PNP (provides 24v signal when switch active). Again, this is generalizing, the best thing to do is find a part number on the switch and google the datasheet for the pinout. Not all systems are 24VDC also but it's very common in CNC.

Just to be picky or pedantic: with X, Y and Z the normal axes for a vertical mill then the rotary associated with the X is A, in like manner Y & B and Z & C. W is movement of the table either closer to the z eg. up or farther away down. HTH

ps. it gets worse... check this link:
Horizonal boring mill, Z vs W axis