What's new
What's new

Santa's coming to town..New machine day Brother Speedio S500X1....rigging questions

Wsurfer

Cast Iron
Hello All,
I'm finally getting my 1st "real" machine delivered. Quote from the rigging company is $1800 to get it off the truck and 50' into the shop. I have a forklift rated @ 5700lb and the machine is ~5000lb. The heaviest thing I've used it on is around 2000lb. I also have the slide-on extendable fork legs for extra reach. I don't want to push my luck on a brand new machine if this is remotely risky, I just haven't done anything that heavy. If I use the rigging company is it customary to get a copy of their insurance policy etc.? Am I being paranoid ?. I'm a noob at rigging, so any advice appreciated.

the riggers should place the machine where you want it. Even if they just put it inside the door, you just need to lift a few inches (i'm assuming you don't need to lift it about anything) so I wouldn't worry about it

For $1500, they should uncrate it, move into position and place it on the pads. They will have insurance in case they drop it and you get a new machine. If you do it and drop it, you get to argue with your insurance company who may ask you if you have the right training before agreeing to pay. Also, the crated weight is much heavier than the machine weight. It comes in a steel crate.

I have seen and had to have a rigger replace a machine for one of my customers after the machine slid off the fork and dropped on one edge 6 inches. I also know of a death because a machine slowly slid off the forks and crushed the helper against a block wall. We move machines in and out of our shop all the time and I have riggers do that for us.

Andy