What's new
What's new

Seeking Advice, Garage Mill for Prototype and Short Run Production?

dhrider123

Plastic
Hello,

I'm looking for a CNC Mill for use in my detached garage (home shop). It's primary purpose would be small production runs and prototyping.

A little back story,
I'm not new to CNC, but not very experienced either. In my late teens I built a little CNC router which I have used primarily to limp by with cutting aluminum. Now in my mid 20s, I'm a CS designer for my day job, first learned CAD on SolidWorks and now use Fusion 360 for my home projects (I've been using F360 CAM for a while too), So I'm not concerned about the CAD/CAM side of things.

I started a company about 8 months ago manufacturing and selling a product I designed for the shooting sports industry. I've got a small fleet of 3D printers churning out parts, and I use my little router to cut a few aluminum components to the product. I'd like to phase out the 3D printing on some parts and I've got a few ideas for new products, but they are not products I would want to print.

Use Conditions,
  • Single Phase machine - I only have 220V 100A service to my shop. So I don't believe I even have the wattage to run a VFD/Phase converter to power a 208/480 VMC, considering I also have lights and an air compressor to run at the same time.
  • Production size - I'm estimating my production output would be 50-300 parts a week roughly 2-4" cubed dimensions.
  • Materials - Nylon and Aluminum would be the primary materials, but also need speeds/feeds/torque for SS, mild steel, and hopefully Titanium.
  • ATC is a must.
  • Minimum of 20" on the X axis for some potential longer parts.
  • I do have a day job, and don't want to dedicate my entire free time to manufacturing, so large bed size and reasonably fast feed rates are important to me.

Questions,