What's new
What's new

Semi-manual Milling

abakker

Plastic
I'm a hobbyist working in a definitely non-production environment, and I'm considering a CNC conversion of a Bridgeport mill. I am comfortable with CNC, since I've built a fairly large CNC router before, and I am familiar with the control setup, mach3, mach 4, etc. I also have plenty of tools to pull it off without it being janky.

My plan is cnc control the X and Y with ball screws, and the knee as my Z axis. I know this won't result in very fast plunge or retract moves, but Again, I am doing low-volume, and mostly need the cnc capacity for handling complex curves and helical hole interpolation.

Anyway, here's the real question: I am accustomed to using Fusion360 + Mach3 for my router, and on my router, I do manual tool changes. I know I can do the same things on the Bridgeport, but, because the bridgeport will be slower, and because my conversion leaves the quill unchanged, I was hoping that I could program in not just tool changes, but manual operations. So, if I have a CNC milling/drilling project, I could program a pre-drill location, have mach3 position the hole and then wait while I drill the hole, then put an end mill in, and then continue with a milling operation. I might also use this for tapping where it positions the XY, then I drill, hit continue, new XY, drill, etc. then the same with taps.

Has anyone else done this? what are the relevant G codes? would I just insert a "blank" tool change, perform the operation, and then a real tool change? could I write some kind of pre-canned routine for essentially going to a location and then doing nothing?

Has anyone ever managed to get Fusion360 to produce code like this?

I run a prototrak mill at work that can be run like that. It is pretty handy if you have a lot of holes on a one off part.