What's new
What's new

setting up turning center tools

gehodgin3

Plastic
I'm new to running a turning center style cnc lathe with a turret, my question is, if I touch off all the tools to the part do I need to set a work shift? What exactly and how does the work shift work? I'm having trouble understanding how the tools, work shift and program correspond with each other. I understand why and how the tools need to be touched off, but what exactly does the work shift do? I touch all my tools off set my zeros and then set my work shift and my tools are are over the place in the z axis, x axis is good. It's always the z axis that is out. Any help would be much appreciated.

I'm new to running a turning center ..
Work shift ? wtf is that ? Try tool offsets.

Programs are written for a tool that is in a certain place. In the real world, the tool is seldom in that actual place. They used to have to be - the turret was removed and tools set up on a fixture or surface plate, in case you are curious.

Then the builders figured out that you could add or subtract numbers from where the tool was supposed to be, to where the tool really was. That's tool offsets.

And that's all there is to it.

I dont know how the new work shifts work on newer machines. so I am assuming they all work the same.

My lathes I use work shift so I dont have to reset tools again off the part.
for example all tools offsets are set off the face of my part, so that means Z0 is set.
now lets say I run another part I call up tool 1 touch the face of my part and use shift work offset to call that Z0 . I dont have to reset my tool offsets(unless I put new tools in).
Basically its keeps you from setting you tool offsets on every new part. On a 2 axis lathe you dont need to worry about the x workshift offset.
Again thats how I do it for the older machines fanuc and yasnac controls