What's new
What's new

Single point threading - order of operations

steve_p

Aluminum
When single point threading with a non-full-profile insert, what is the best order of operations?
Should I turn to final od, then thread?
Or rough turn oversize, thread, then finish turn to proper od?
Some other method I haven't mentioned?
I am new to threading on the lathe, so any input is appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve

Turn the OD, then thread. You do NOT thread full profile/full depth at one shot. You really need to do some reading about the subject before attempting this or one of the following will happen:
1) You'll trash the workpiece
2) You'll trash the cutting tool
3) You'll injure yourself
4) All of the above

Do some homework on the subject then report back here what your procedure is going to be including ALL the details of the piece you intend to create. When you post a question (that's ok) you need to include the material/intended use/class of fitment/machine you intend to use/tooling you have.

When single point threading with a non-full-profile insert, what is the best order of operations?
Should I turn to final od, then thread?
Or rough turn oversize, thread, then finish turn to proper od?
Some other method I haven't mentioned?
I am new to threading on the lathe, so any input is appreciated.

Yes, you should turn the OD first. I always turn the OD minus .005 under.
For example, turning a 1/2-13 thread I would turn the OD to .495 rather than .500. This gives some clearance between the stud and the nut.

If you are new to turning threads I suggest you place a groove at the end of where you want to stop the thread. What I mean by that is to put a groove in your material (I use a cut off tool for this groove) at the end of the thread and make this groove the 'minor diameter' of that thread.