What's new
What's new

Benchtop Lathe + CNC Mill = ???

aparfeno

Plastic
Hello,
I am a hobbyist machinist and I wanted to get some advice or comments on the following idea/project:

I have a Grizzly G0765, 7x14 benchtop lathe, a toy really, that I can lift with one hand.
I also have a really nice Index Wells CNC 3000lb mill that works great under mach3 (2000oz steppers instead of servos).

Idea: bolt the lathe to the mill table, and use mill's X and Z axes to perform CNC operations on the lathe. I would need to make some toolholder that would hold a lathe tool in the spindle, and use mill's spindle brake to hold it steady.

I am also planing to upgrade lathe's bearings to taper bearings, something a lot of people with these lathes do.

So, I am curious if there are any unexpected problems that I would run into?
I am expecting that due mill's rigidity, I should get excellent surface finish and accuracy despite using this toy lathe. Am I right to expect this?

Thanks for any comments or suggestions,

Alex

I fail to understand your reasoning. An indexing fixture bolted to the table will do the same thing a lot easier and be 10x more rigid and versatile than a piece of Chinese crap toy lathe.

I fail to understand your reasoning. An indexing fixture bolted to the table will do the same thing a lot easier and be 10x more rigid and versatile than a piece of Chinese crap toy lathe.

Think you can spin an indexer fast enough to turn with?

Just put your stock in the mill spindle and your turning tools on the table.

This! Depending on length/diameter.

It is clear to me with these postings, that these new OP's are NOT
reading the guidelines as to what is and is NOT allowed here.

Can you blame them ? Look at each sub forum, and I see minimum
4 "stickies" up top. Given the attention span of todays posting
public.

The moderators need to clean these out, and Make ONE sticky, and make it clear
as to what is and is NOT allowed.

Hello,