What's new
What's new

Some basic suggestions for machining grey cast iron

KevintheCrawdad

Plastic
Hey all,
I'm currently nut deep in a rather sizeable job that includes several castings. From what I understand these castings are made of grey cast iron. I'm a relatively inexperienced machinist, and am open to any recommendations regarding tooling choice, feed and speed, and any other handy tips for tackling this particular material thanks! I'm running a DMG Mori DMU95 Monoblock 5 axis milling center.

Get ready for stinky dust.

Grey iron is abrasive, but it cuts easily. It will cut well, but it will wear tools a little quicker than mild steel.

Run slower SFM on solid round tools, and more feed-per-rev.

If you have a trusted tooling vendor, give them a call. If not, it may be time to look for one. Luckily, you're in Michigan, so there should be many to choose from.

Perhaps provide us with a little more detailed explanation of what kind of machining, and therefore what type of cutting tools you'll be needing.

Jashley,

Great information to start with. I'm currently dealing with only certain parts of these castings needing to be machined. The areas in question seem to have a pretty consistent .375" of stock cast in, so in the interest of mitigating guesswork, I have been toying with trochoidal HEM toolpaths that I can use to remove all of the extra material save for .010" or so for finish. I'm using predominantly reground tooling that has been shortened as well. So far, I've gotten relatively surprising tool life through the roughing sections this way. Hope this helps clarify what it is I'm attempting. Feel more than free to ask any other questions, or comment as necessary. Thanks a bunch!

I wouldn't bother trochoidal milling in grey iron. It's too easy to cut.

Here's the secret with abrasive materials.